Bounty Cakes with Elderflower-Chocolate Glaze


I always say: sunday is baking day – you might have read this in a few baking posts before here.
So yes, this cake was also created on a sunday, but this time I failed a little 😀 I thought about the bounty combination (coconut and chocolate), so I tested the first recipe and it was not tooooo bad, but it wasn´t worth the share.
I still wanted to create a bounty cake, so I started another try the next sunday and this one was much better 😉

I think the main problem was, that I never used coconut flour before and now that I did, I wasn´t sure how to use it. I thought, I could use it like any other flour, but no (!) it´s very similar to soy flour and therefore very ‘wet’ and much harder to combine with liquids.
There isn´t a time when you don´t learn anything, right 😀 Failure is human and so is the kitchen-fail!!

I ordered some of the ingredients at the grocery online shop Delinero where you can find all kinds of foods and beverages. Many many brands come together in this online shop.
The other ingredients are those, I had in my kitchen anyway, so I think you´re fine finding all the ingredients in the supermarket or online.

Once I was satisfied with the final recipe, I had so much fun shooting it. I´m still in the learning progress when it comes to food photography (or photography in general), but everytime I shoot something that I actually wanted to shoot, I´m super thrilled 😀 I made a couple of photos which I really liked, but it was more or less an ‘accident-shot’ and I didn´t really know how to set my camera for the things I want. Just in case you want to learn more about food photography, I´d like to name some great photo-foodies. There is Nisha ❤ She makes beeeaaautiful photos and she recently released a little photography class on her blog – take a look here.
Another very talented foodie with amazing photos is Ronja. She is a german foodblogger and she often makes ‘behind-the-scenes’-videos in her Instagram-Story where she explains (in German) her camera settings and stuff like that. She also gives real classes in different kind of city in Germany.
Of course there are so man more great photographer from who you can learn from, just find your own path and try out as much as possible. Your own style come automatically. I can´t wait to have m very first real photo class on 19th May with a very good friend where we have a 3-hour shoot in hamburg during dawn.


Oay, back to the cakes 😀 I´m sure you´ll love them in case you´re a coconut fan. Just one last tip: I prefer it less sweet then others, therefore you might wanna add more coconut sugar or coconut nectar ❤

Ingredients for 3 small Cakes:

100 g Coconut Flour, e.g. from Delinero
200 g Spelt Flour
1 P. Baking Powder
a pinch of Salt
2 tbsp Plant Yoghurt
350 ml Plant Milk
100 ml Water
1-2 tbsp Cocoa Powder
3 tbsp Coconut Sugar, e.g. from Berioo
4 tbsp Coconut Nectar, e.g. from Delinero
4 tbsp Coconut Oil (dough) + 1 tsp (glaze)
1 tbsp shredded Flax Seeds, e.g. from Delinero
50 g Dark Chocolate
2 tbsp Elderflower Syrup, e.g. from Delinero
1 tbsp Coconut Flakes

Instruction:

For the cakes just mix coconut flour, spelt flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder and coconut sugar in a big bowl. Mix the shredded flax seeds with about 2 tbsp water and let it soak for a couple of minutes. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees (C).
In the meantime add plant yoghurt, milk, water and melted coconut oil to the dry ingredients and mix everthing until you have a well-combined dough. Now add coconut nectar and the flax-egg and mix again. Fill the dough in 3 small cake forms and bake them for about 30 minutes.
Once they are done, let them cool down before you remove the baking forms. While the cakes cool down, melt the chocolate, add coconut oil and elderflower syrup. Spread the glaze on top of the cakes and sprinkle some coconut flakes on top.

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 thoughts on “Bounty Cakes with Elderflower-Chocolate Glaze

    1. Hi Nisha 🙂 You are so welcome, it´s the least I could do. And thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment!! xx

      Like

I´m happy to read your comment :)

