Rainbow Donuts

DSC01580
When I go shopping or when my boyfriend and I travel around and sight-see any kind of city, I always stopped at Dunkin´ Donuts and enjoyed a ‘Bavarian Cream’ donut ❤
Now that I´m vegan, I´m standing in front of the stores, craving for any kind of donut but go on without buying one of course. It´s not that hard to say no to those kind of products, because I watched so many documentaries and read so much about veganism, that I simply don´t want to eat things like that anymore, because I know the industry behind it – that doesn´t mean that I loved these kinda treats back when I wasn´t vegan though!

Even better, that there isn´t a thing that can´t be veganized!!! When there are vegan ‘sausages’, vegan ‘cheese’ and vegan scrambled ‘eggs’, it´s damn sure possible to enjoy vegan donuts! And if you don´t find a store in your area, you just make them by yourself 🙂
Home-made is the best anyway ❤

DSC01583DSC01587

So I researched a little about the typical donut dough and experimented here and there to find the perfect recipe, and I´m pretty sure I have found a kick-ass one witht this one 😀 It´s simple, it won´t take long and the donuts are perfectly soft and fluffy like they should be. The glaze and toppings can be varied to your own favorites of course. I used a simple powdered sugar – lemon juice glaze and added cocoa powder for some. After dunking them into the glaze I topped some of the donuts with sprinkles or more powdered sugar 😛

You will need a donut baking tray for this recipe (like the one on the first picture) as the dough is not firm enough to form them without a tray. I got mine from amazone for very little money.

Next time making them, I try out different kind of glazes and toppings and let you know how they turned out. In case I create a must-know glaze, I´ll add the recipe right here 😉

DSC01598

Ingredients for 6 Donuts:

120 g Flour
60 g Cane Sugar
2 tsp Baking Powder
120 ml Soy Milk
2 Chia Eggs (2 tbsp Chia Seeds + 4 tbsp Water)
3 tbsp Coconut Oil
Vanilla
Cinnamon
optional ‘Kaffe Kuss‘ from Just Spices
a pinch of Salt
2 tbsp Powdered Sugar + 1 tbsp for powder the donuts after glazing
4 tbsp Lemon Juice (or water)
1 tbsp Cocoa Powder
Sprinkles

Instruction:

Make your chia eggs by mixing 2 tbsp chia seeds with 4 tbsp water. Let them soak while you´re preparing the other ingredients for the dough. Preheat youroven to 180 degreees (C).
Add the dry ingredients such as flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, optional other spices and salt to a bowl and slowly mix it with soy milk, melted coconut oil and vanilla. Once the chia seeds are well-soaked so you have a jelly-ish texture, add them to the dough and mix everything. Now fill the dough into the donut baking tray and bake them for about 15 minutes.
Meanwhile prepare the glaze: Mix the powdered sugar with lemon juice or water until you have a sticky (not too thin, not too thick) texture. Dunk you donuts in and add sprinkles or powdered sugar on top. Or mix the sugar-lemon glaze with cocoa powder to have a chocolate glaze.

Donuts 01

Merken

3 thoughts on “Rainbow Donuts

I´m happy to read your comment :)

