Almond Milk & Almond Bliss Balls

Yay, I made my very first almond milk – and I asure you it´s sooooo super simple.
I thought this would be too complicated and also ahuge mess in the kitchen but it´s not! And it really tastes so good, it´s much cheaper and y´know exactly what´s in there.

For making nut milk (doesn´t matter which nuts you´re using) you will need a high speed blender, a 1-l-bottle or several smaller ones, a nut bag or a kitchen cloth and a funnel. Just in case you don´t have a bottle this big, I´m sure you enjoy some smoothie every now and then or enjoy a any kind of juice or wine which has a bottle with a screw plug. I also keep the smoothie bottles from Berioo as I really like the shape and the size for re-using it (also for decorations 😉 ). Well, finally you will need the ingredients. I used almonds, figs and water – that´s it. Oh, one more thing: You will need 3-4 hours time for preparation – don´t worry it´s just because the nuts have to soak in water for at least 3 hours. Feel free to let them soak over night, during your working hours or during whatever you´re doing in the meantime 😉

Next nut milk I´d like to try will be cashew or hazelnut milk and I will experiment with the natural sweetener. Like I said, I used figs this time, and I want to try dates or maybe I give it a try to use no sweetener at all.
One thing is for sure: whenever I need almond, cashew, hazelnut or whatever kind of nut milk I will make it myself, because I can seriously save a lot of money and I just love to do these things in my own kitchen.


And one other great thing about making this at home: I also made bliss balls after´wards, because I didn´t want to throw the nut puree away. So I just added a few ingredients, formed small balls and dunk them in my favorite melted chocolate and enjoyed them as a little snack in between and also as a cookie dough topping on my oatmeal.
I wrote both recipes down for you but feel free to use your favorite ingredients for the bliss balls. You can use dates instead of figs, you can add gojis, cocoa nibs, hemp seeds or whatever comes into your mind. Just make sure to keep the nuts and don´t throw them away!

Besides having my beloved oatmeal with this almond milk, I also used it for smoothies and rice pudding. Take a look here for my Crunchy Almond Rice Pudding, which turned out so super creamy and delicious.

I really hope I could convince you to make your own nut milk in case you hesitated so far and you have as much fun as I had making it!

Ingredients for 1 l Almond Milk:

200 g Almonds
2 dried Figs
1 l Water

Ingredients for about 20 Bliss Balls:

The pureed and squeezed Almonds
2 Figs
2 tbsp Peanutbutter
1 tsp Maca, e.g. from Berioo
2 tbsp Coconut Flakes
5-6 tbsp Oats
8-10 pieces of your favorite Chocolate
1 tsp Coconut Oil (if needed)

Instruction:

For the milk simply fill the almonds together with 1 liter of water in a high speed blender and let them soak for a couple of hours. I let them soak for about 3 hours. After soaking, add the figs and start blending at full speed. Once you have a well-combined texture you will need a nutbag or like I used a kitchen cloth, a 1-l-bottle or a few smaller ones (I used 4x 0,3 l bottles) and a funnel. Now just put the funnel into your bottle, cover the funnel with the nut bag or kitchen cloth and start filling the nut milk into it. Squeeze the milk through the cloth.

For the bliss balls make sure to keep the squeezed almonds from your milk and mix it with figs, peanutbutter, maca, coconut flakes, oats and 5 tbsp of water if neede to get a better texture. Form balls as big as you want them to and set them in the fridge while you melt the chocolate in a bowl over hot water. Once the chocolate is completely melted you can add some coconut oil if the texture is a little bit too crumbly. If it´s perfectly even you won´t need that. Now dunk your bliss balls in the chocolate and set them back in the fridge.

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 thoughts on “Almond Milk & Almond Bliss Balls

  1. mmmmh die Bliss Balls sehen ja lecker aus! Ich liebe solche gesunden Snacks und Mandelmilch sowieso, und es ist so einfach herzustellen 🙂
    Liebe Grüße und Danke für Deinen Besuch auf meinem Blog,
    Sharon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ich liebe selbstgemachte Nussmilch auch! Wahnsinn wie einfach es eigentlich geht und wenn man sogar die Reste noch so lecker verwerten kann, gibts doch keinen Grund, warum man noch die teure Supermarkt-Nussmilch kaufen sollte. 👍💕
    Ich überlege gerade noch, mit was ich die Haferflocken ersetzen kann, damit die Energy Balls glutenfrei werden.
    LG Luise von http://www.pipapiccolotta.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi liebe Luise,
      vielen Dank für deine lieben Worte!! Selbstgemacht ist doch immer am besten, oder?! Vielleicht versuchst du statt der Haferflocken mal Hirseflocken oder Quinoa Pops… oder du verwendest mehr Kokosflocken ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

I´m happy to read your comment :)

