Loaded oriental Pitas

Who doesn´t like healthy fast food? I bet there is not one 😀
I decided to try these loaded pitas when I was at a birthday party of a friend of mine with my boyfriend. We had some beers, some snacks and we decided to go at about 2 o´clock in the morning, we were craving about something savory. Do you know that feeling? I´m sure you are, everybody craved for something eventually, doesn´t matter if you drunk alcohol or not.

So there are not many options in the middle of the night. There are McDonald´s or Burger King which are absolutely no option for me and also my boyfriend doesn´t ike it there very much – and he is not vegan. And then there is this kebab diner which is open 24/7 :O WTF, right?! I mean good for us in that situation, but how horrible for those who have to work there!
Anyway, I ordered a kebab without meat and without the sauces but with an overload of salad and some falafel. Tasted very good, but I thought about a way of making it even more healthy at home the next time.

And that´s what I did here. I went to my local grocery store, bought pita or also called kebab breads, veggies, salad, chickpeas, kidney beans, read cabbage and some vegan sauces for the filling and surprised my boyfriend after his soccer game. Guys, you must have seen my boyfriends face when he came home, smelling them. Then when he saw them and finally when he had his first bite 😀 I had some fails in the kitchen in the past, but these ones are definitely not part of any failure 😉

First I wanted to make falafel as well, but then I decided to bake the chickpeas with some delicious spices. This is also a great healthy snack idea for a movie night btw. Just was the chickpeas use your favourite spices – no oil needed here. Then just bake it for at least 30 minutes at 200 degrees (C) and enjoy them instead of chips or supermarket-popcorn. If you like it rather crunchy, go for 40-45 minutes of baking.
Oh and make sure to save the liquid from the chickpea-can and use it for a nice dessert or something like that. Just goodle aqua faba and find yourself your favorite way to use it.


As usual: replace or add any ingredients if you feel like. Same goes with sauces or dips. I used a capsicum-cashew and a lentil-curry spread which I always buy in the supermarket. And I made my herbal dip again, but a hummus would also fit perfectly.
I made 2 pitas for each of us (8 halfs in total), but I was full after 1,5 so my boyfriend had 2,5 😛 As there was salad left after stuffing the pitas, we ate the rest of it the next day when we had our first BBQ this year 🙂 If you want to make these pitas for more than 2 persons, I´m sure the salad is enough to fill 2 more pitas. Therefore you have 12 halfs – should be enugh to feed 4 girls or 3 boys, haha.

Ingredients for 3-4 Persons:

6 oval Pitas/Kebabs
vegan spread of your choice
a bunch of Spring Onions (80g)
70 g Romana Salad
100 g fresh Red Cabbage
1 tsp Agave Nectar
1 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar
4-5 Carrots
1/2 Zucchini
100 g kidney beans
1 big Tomato
1 can Chickpeas (400g/265g)
oriental spices such as ‘Tandori Masala‘ & ‘Hummus Gewürz‘ from Just Spices

Ingredients for the herbal dip:

Please take a look here.

Instruction:

Preheat your oven up to 200 degrees (C). Pour off the chickpeas and make sure to save the liquid (details above).
Wash the chickpeas and spice them up with your favorite oriental spices. If you don´t have the ones from Just Spices, I recommend coriander, garlic, cumin, ginger, turmeric, seal salt and parsley. Bake them for about 30 minutes and roll them over from time to time while baking.
For the rainbow salad start with dicing the red cabbage and cook it in some water fo about 20 minutes. Then wash all the other veggies and salad leaves. Slice the spring onions and salad, dice the zucchini and the tomato and grate the carrots. Pour off the liquid of the kidney beans and wash them.
Once the red cabbage is done, pour off the water and add agave nectar and apple cider vinegar. Add it together with all the other sliced, diced and grated veggies to a big bowl and mix everthing. Also add the chickpeas when they are done baking. They should be crispy on the outside and still soft in the inside. Therefore make sure to try one after 30 minutes and decide if they are done or not.
Turn off the oven but use the remaining heat for baking the pitas for a couple of minutes. Make sure to cut them in half before you bake them. After baking use your favorite vegan spread for the inside of the pitas – I used capsicum-cashew and lentil-curry. Stuff them with the salad and enjoy it with a herbal dip. There might be some leftovers of the salad – you can eat it as a side dish to your pitas or eat it the next day like I did 😉

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

One thought on “Loaded oriental Pitas

I´m happy to read your comment :)

